EC to meet all DCs, Election Officers of all districts of Assam; Congress skips EC meet on delimitation

HY News 28 March, 2023 11:18 am IST

Text Size:

The Election Commission team will meet all the Deputy Commissioners and Election Officers of all the districts of Assam on Tuesday.

On Monday, the EC team met more than 55 organisations and 10 national and State recognised political parties in Guwahati in connection with the ongoing delimitation exercises of Assembly and Parliamentary constituencies in the State.

The Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India, Rajiv Kumar and two Election Commissioners Anup Chandra Pandey and Arun Goel reached Guwahati on Monday evening on a three-day long visit to Assam for holding discussions with various stakeholders, including political parties and civil societies in connection with ongoing delimitation exercises of Assembly and Parliamentary constituencies in the State.

In the meantime, the Congress party skipped the Election Commission (EC) meeting for the delimitation exercise to be carried out in Assam citing that the time allotted to the main Opposition party was insufficient and suspected that the meeting had a "predetermined objective."

"The EC allotted only three hours for 11 political parties. This means each party will get only 15 minutes. We requested the EC to give us more time as we are the main opposition party in the state. But the commission did not give us more time and so we decided to skip today's meeting," Bhupen Kumar Borah, president of Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) told reporters in Guwahati, amid the EC team's meeting with political party representative”.

The delimitation exercise in Assam was supposed to be carried out in 2007 but the same was postponed mainly due to law-and-order issues. The EC started the process in December last year after being asked by the government.

Centre advice states to undertake mock drills in view of upsurge in COVID -19 and Influenza cases

Election Commission to announces Karnataka assembly election schedule; Voting to take place on May 10

Related News

Leave Comments